Uncommon Bosnian Names – A

´

Until now I have only written about popular Bosnian name. So I decided to make a series of posts about underused rare Bosnian names, which have a beautiful and positive meaning.

´

All names and meanings are from my Bosnian name dictionary, which I have mentioned before. In the next weeks I am going to present 5 female and 5 male names from the initial letters A to Z.

´

A

´

Male Names

´

Name

Origin Meaning Pronunciation

Adžem

Arabian Stranger, Non-Arab AH-JEM

Alemdar

Arabian-Persian Leader AH-LEM-DAR

Arslan

Arabian Leo, Hero AHR-SLAN

Avam

Arabian Good swimmer AH-VAM

Azem

Arabian Trustful friend AH-ZEM

´

The R is rolled as the R in Spanish, for example carro

The Bosnian Z is pronounced like the Z in Zero.

´

Female Names

´

Name

Origin Meaning Pronunciation

Abasa

Arabian Leones AH-BAZ-A

Ademija

Arabian Humane AH-DE-MIA

Adla, Adila

Arabian Respectable, felicitated AHD-LA, AHD-I-LA

Altuna, Altana

Turkish Gold, Gold coin AHL-TUH-NA

Ambera

Arabian Pretty fragrance, perfume AHM-BER-A

´

Photo: Taken by me


3 thoughts on “Uncommon Bosnian Names – A

  1. Ambera is absolutely gorgeous! I think I am falling in love. Altana is also quite nice and I have always really liked Arslan.

Leave a Reply

